Skip to content

How to create your own geodata

Featured Replies

This guide was shared years ago. I am not the original author.
This is the only guide ever shared to generate geodata from the client.

 

Tools needed.

 

Stazis L2 Geo Converter (GeoConv)
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/irzey5hk0tyywub/GeoConv_v93b.zip

 

G16ed (A heightmap editor that works directly with the UEd3 G16 format (16-bit greyscale.))
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/2v2288vlbq6n2bk/G16ed.zip

 

UTPackage (extract)
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/vuddpqsd5ik9g3c/UTPackage.zip

 

Unreal Engine 2 Editor (Create UTX)
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/yx53pt73a5e6yk3/UE2Runtime-22261903.zip

 

L2J-GeoEditor (Convert to L2J format and create the PathNode)
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/1j5lhll1mn1uy2x/l2j-GeoEditor-v17.zip

 

HEX Editor - (I use UEStudio or Ultraedit)
Download: Find it on the web :P

 

Important: In this example I will use the map T_22_19, but applies the same procedure for any map.

 

First we need to extract heightmap images from UTX files (T_22_19.UTX, T_22_20.UTX etc.)

    * Put this file T_22_19.UTX in UTPackage/Textures and execute "unpack.bat"
    * Open UTPackage/RAW folder and find the file 22_19.raw
    * Open this file with Ultraedit and search (Ctrl + f) for "40 80 10", the first byte after this string is the start of the heightmap image.
    * Copy this address, in this case is 107h
    * Open the windows calculator and switch to "Scientific" mode, select "Hex" and input "107", select "Dec" and now you have "263".
    * Open G16ed, go to "File -> Import -> RAW data, search for 22_19.raw and in the field "Data start offset" input "263" and click in Input, Ok, Ok.
    * Go to "File -> Save (Ctrl + S)" and use the name of the map for your new image (22_19.BMP). Now you have a perfect G16 heightmap image.


Now we need to create an UTX file with the image that we have saved.

    * Open UnrealEd and in the windows "Textures" go to "File -> New" and complete the fields.

 Info -> Package: T_22_19, Group: Height, Name: 22_19, Class: Raw Material
 Properties -> MaterialClass: Class"Engine.Texture" (Select Texture from drop-down)

    * Go to "File -> Import" and select the image 22_19.BMP and ensure that the fields are correct.

 Info -> Package: T_22_19, Group: Height, Name: 22_19
 Options -> Masked: uncheck, Generate MipMaps: uncheck, Detail Hack?: uncheck, Compression: none

    * Go to "File -> Save" and save this file as T_22_19.utx.

Now we can create our Geodata using Stazis L2 Geo Converter (GeoConv)

    * Navigate to the Textures folder in the game, rename your original T_22_19.utx to T_22_19_O.utx and put in this folder our new T_22_19.utx

    * Open GeoConv and change this params.

Min Plane Angle to XY: 20, Stairs Height: 10, Optimization Different: 80

    * Click "Open Packages" and select 22_19.unr in "Lineage II/MAPS", allow the process to finish and now you have your GEO 22_19_conv.dat in the folder "Lineage II/MAPS".

    * Convert this GEO to L2J format and create the PathNode with L2j GeoEditor or HDGE.


Known Issues

    * Some geodata are not correctly generated or can't be generated.
    * Using "Stairs Height: 10" can cause problems with the stairs (If you use "8" check all the stairs in the map for correct NSEW).
 

  • Author

Further manual adjustments can be made using G3DEditor.

Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/ps2d2kc0hwc2d54/G3DEditor_win_x64_20110920.zip

Edited by Mobius

  • 8 months later...

Hi plz u have screen for that

Quote

for "40 80 10", the first byte after this string is the start of the heightmap image.
    * Copy this address, in this case is 107h

i'm here and i don't see de adress

ffgf.png

  • Author

I do not use the hex editor you use.

And your screenshot does not show all the window.

  • 3 months later...

Hi, i have this error, any solution?

error.png.97fb940a4920e77c1ad5b4b00717d341.png

  • 1 year later...
On 3/17/2019 at 8:35 PM, sessho6430 said:

Hi, i have this error, any solution?

error.png.97fb940a4920e77c1ad5b4b00717d341.png

i have the same error , any solution ?

  • 4 weeks later...
On 5/1/2020 at 4:45 PM, destrodevianne said:

i have the same error , any solution ?

 

Hello, a bit late i know but i had the same problem as above, finally managed to find a solution.

 

You have to change Windows Region to: English (United Kingdom).

Spoiler

Region_Settings.jpg

 

This worked perfectly for me.

  • 1 year later...

what about creating GEODATA for custom map? 

  • 4 months later...

Hi Bros, im starting to edit some maps but i didnt found any wiki that shows how to use g3deditor or any editor. What is te functionality of de buttons with triangles ? and the colors? .

 

Edited by barao45

  • 5 months later...

sorry duplicate contet, cant delete 😄

Edited by BrabusLV
sorry duplicate contet, cant delete

  • 5 months later...

Thanks, the guide is very useful.

I have this problem, is there any solution?

When extracting heightmap images from UTX files,Multiple files 18_15.raw, 18_15deco01.raw, 18_15G001.raw, etc. were extracted from the UTPackage/RAW folder.

316140736.png.ff4a6daec3e324cfb8a95eadeb5a6d75.png

Do you need to extract all the new images (18_15.BMP, 18_15deco01.BMP, ..., 18_15S005.BMP)?

 

  

On 3/16/2023 at 5:20 PM, Finn said:

the other textures are like you can read for decoration purposes only. unreal needs those to apply texture to the ground and for example grass, debris or whatever deco u want to your heightmap

Thank you for your reply!

 

 

Edited by lch
Solved

the other textures are like you can read for decoration purposes only. unreal needs those to apply texture to the ground and for example grass, debris or whatever deco u want to your heightmap

Edited by Finn

sorry, I put the question together

Edited by lch

  • 4 months later...
On 3/16/2018 at 9:12 PM, Mobius said:

This guide was shared years ago. I am not the original author.
This is the only guide ever shared to generate geodata from the client.

 

Tools needed.

 

Stazis L2 Geo Converter (GeoConv)
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/irzey5hk0tyywub/GeoConv_v93b.zip

 

G16ed (A heightmap editor that works directly with the UEd3 G16 format (16-bit greyscale.))
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/2v2288vlbq6n2bk/G16ed.zip

 

UTPackage (extract)
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/vuddpqsd5ik9g3c/UTPackage.zip

 

Unreal Engine 2 Editor (Create UTX)
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/yx53pt73a5e6yk3/UE2Runtime-22261903.zip

 

L2J-GeoEditor (Convert to L2J format and create the PathNode)
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/1j5lhll1mn1uy2x/l2j-GeoEditor-v17.zip

 

HEX Editor - (I use UEStudio or Ultraedit)
Download: Find it on the web 😛

 

Important: In this example I will use the map T_22_19, but applies the same procedure for any map.

 

First we need to extract heightmap images from UTX files (T_22_19.UTX, T_22_20.UTX etc.)

    * Put this file T_22_19.UTX in UTPackage/Textures and execute "unpack.bat"
    * Open UTPackage/RAW folder and find the file 22_19.raw
    * Open this file with Ultraedit and search (Ctrl + f) for "40 80 10", the first byte after this string is the start of the heightmap image.
    * Copy this address, in this case is 107h
    * Open the windows calculator and switch to "Scientific" mode, select "Hex" and input "107", select "Dec" and now you have "263".
    * Open G16ed, go to "File -> Import -> RAW data, search for 22_19.raw and in the field "Data start offset" input "263" and click in Input, Ok, Ok.
    * Go to "File -> Save (Ctrl + S)" and use the name of the map for your new image (22_19.BMP). Now you have a perfect G16 heightmap image.


Now we need to create an UTX file with the image that we have saved.

    * Open UnrealEd and in the windows "Textures" go to "File -> New" and complete the fields.

 Info -> Package: T_22_19, Group: Height, Name: 22_19, Class: Raw Material
 Properties -> MaterialClass: Class"Engine.Texture" (Select Texture from drop-down)

    * Go to "File -> Import" and select the image 22_19.BMP and ensure that the fields are correct.

 Info -> Package: T_22_19, Group: Height, Name: 22_19
 Options -> Masked: uncheck, Generate MipMaps: uncheck, Detail Hack?: uncheck, Compression: none

    * Go to "File -> Save" and save this file as T_22_19.utx.

Now we can create our Geodata using Stazis L2 Geo Converter (GeoConv)

    * Navigate to the Textures folder in the game, rename your original T_22_19.utx to T_22_19_O.utx and put in this folder our new T_22_19.utx

    * Open GeoConv and change this params.

Min Plane Angle to XY: 20, Stairs Height: 10, Optimization Different: 80

    * Click "Open Packages" and select 22_19.unr in "Lineage II/MAPS", allow the process to finish and now you have your GEO 22_19_conv.dat in the folder "Lineage II/MAPS".

    * Convert this GEO to L2J format and create the PathNode with L2j GeoEditor or HDGE.


Known Issues

    * Some geodata are not correctly generated or can't be generated.
    * Using "Stairs Height: 10" can cause problems with the stairs (If you use "8" check all the stairs in the map for correct NSEW).
 

Hello, how I convert since geodata.l2j to .l2g?, I'm working in lucera2 classic, thank you for the information!

  • 7 months later...

Hello beautifull people. I had an error in Geo Converter. That say Range Check Error. Do you know what the problem is?. 

Create an account or sign in to comment

Account

Navigation

Search

Search

Configure browser push notifications

Chrome (Android)
  1. Tap the lock icon next to the address bar.
  2. Tap Permissions → Notifications.
  3. Adjust your preference.
Chrome (Desktop)
  1. Click the padlock icon in the address bar.
  2. Select Site settings.
  3. Find Notifications and adjust your preference.