About diffs, patch, compile and compiled server

aidie1

Question

Sorry guys i am pretty new to L2J theme. I compiled, installed, started and tested with compiled one server, but now i am gonna start on Quests and Events, but my head is broken.

Subject: For example i got source code of server and compiled one server which i use atm. By next step i put in code changes and i need compile full project again? But whats will be with my changes, which i made on compiled one server? I googled whole day and didnt found answe on this my quest.

Subject2: How better work on code with server? I need to make my private svn and put there base code? And update it with tested diffs? 

Thanks for help.

5 answers to this question

You take only .jar file(from source/build) and replace on your pack . (If you use IL l2jserver for acis , l2jfrozen-core for frozen)

Edited by Generic

You have to recompile the core each time you want to refresh your server. You have to replace l2jserver.jar, which holds the core side aswell as whatever datapack you edited (sql, xml, htm,...). Previous core is crushed on the process, so consider to track your changes using a SVN (which is a sort of online history of your editions, allowing you to see/revert your editions, even old ones).

Diffs / patches (same thing for different names, a patch is distributed under .diff) are generated using a SVN. It compares local copy (with editions) and online edition (untouched, at latest commited revision) and generate all changes between those 2 revisions.

A commit is an edit you did locally than you uploaded on your SVN, making your SVN one revision higher. All editions are accessible if you checkout your project at HEAD revision (which is the accumulation of all changes you did).

A checkout is a download of your project at a revision X (you choose).